The Unknown Warriors

The following are reviews from Amazon readers. They are taken from the 1st and updated versions and also the USA page.

Total so far 25th Oct 2013

Amazon 5 star 5 votes

Amazon 4 star 3 votes

Amazon 3 star 0 votes

Amazon 2 star 0 votes

Amazon 1 star 0 votes

 

GET IT BEFORE IT GETS BANNED! 20 Dec 2009

5/5

By Mr. D. Evans  

 

This book is a fascinating yet sad read. It tells the tale of a betrayed generation . Many who payed the ultimate price with their lives and the survivers who are dissillusioned because current Britain isn't what they fought and died for.

 

It gives a fascinating insight of then Britain and the reasons why so many went off to war to defend her. Fascinating , sometimes humourous, sometimes heartbreaking the wartime experiences this tough generation had.

 

This book is unique in the sense that it addresses the feelings of this generation currently . Remember them we are told, and what they went through. Listen to their war time stories but lets not listen to what they have to say about life now !

 

At last, this book has given these people a voice. There was obviously so much anger and frustration waiting to come out that the letters here have totaly done away with political correctness and just tell it how it is. The composer of this book has been brave and has not edited the letters and has printed them in their entirity. Many have glady submitted their names to their letters but many have requested to remain annonymous through fear of persecution. It is a sad state when we are told we have freedom of speach, so long as it's politically correct! The truth is the truth, whether we like it or not. And the people in this book are speaking from the heart, having been there, lived through it, seen their friends die ,only to feel it was fought for nothing because their values,culture ,traditions ,patriotism, identity and freedom of speach must now be `toned down` incase it offends or is out of step with the new agender for the fate of Britain . These people deserve to have a voice . After all , they fought for this country , we didn't, we owe them something surely !

Buy this book in it's current form while you still can. It could possibly become banned, censored or forcibly edited in the future, the comments on the peoples current thoughts on their country being removed and it just ending up a collection of war time stories.

 

THE TRUTH HURTS 2 Jan 2010

By Black Douglas  

4/5

 

I think it's a great idea to give the heroes of world war 2 a platform to air their views on modern Britain, after all they more than deserve it. I wasn't surprised by the politically incorrect views, as my grandad held the same opinion on many of the subjects, although I was saddened to find alot of these veterans feel disconnected or cut off from Britain today.They are angry about multi-culturism , Homosexuals,muslims and immigration ,some of the stuff our political elites tell us what they were fighting Hitler for.The veterans state their opinions eloquently and I feel most people in Britain are fed up of the lefties and their P.C agenda because their trendy ways are getting very old.

 

10 Jan 2010

TRUE PICTURE

4/5

By R. G. ORTON  

 

At my age (82) this book echos my sentiments exactly, especially regarding what the politicians and PC Brigade have done to Britain after WW2. Lost the Empire, lost all control of crime, reduced moral standards to almost zero, introduced a new religion, i.e. CELEBRITY WORSHIP .......... I could go on .........

 

HARD HITTING OPINIONS

By  Sawney Beane  on February 15, 2010

4/5

I would like to praise the author for giving the heroes of the second world war a platform to air their opinions. I'm not at all surprised about some of the politically incorrect views of the veterans, but I found it depressing that so many of them feel disconnected to the land they fought so hard for and many of them are no longer proud of their country as they don't recognise or even like the place. The government and media will have you believe they took up arms to fight for equality against tyranny, the men in this book tell you they fought because they believed their way of life was under threat and wanted to preserve it, they feel since the end of the war successive governments have eroded what they loved through politically correct policies and handing constitutional power to the European union, many of them feel their fallen comrades will be turning in their graves at the state of Britain today.This book can get a bit repetitive because the veterans opposition to the E.U, mass immigration ,homosexuality and general degeneracy in modern society is unanimous.

 

FASCINATING AND INCREDIBLY DISTURBING: AN IMPORTANT BOOK

5/5

By  Scott C. Locklin  VINE VOICE on June 29, 2011

 

I'm not British: I'm American. But I was raised with the idea of "the greatest generation." I am pretty sure this idea is even more true in Great Britain than it is in the United States: the fight against the Nazis seems to pervade their cultural mythology, as well it should. The British certainly suffered more than the Americans, and ordinary British people proved their mettle in ways their American contemporaries couldn't imagine. Pringle figured it was worth asking these men and women their stories, *and* what they thought of modern Cool Britannia. The answer should chill anyone to the bone. Most of them say the fight wasn't worth it. What happened to Britain subsequently seemed worse to them than being conquered by Nazis. Think about that for a moment. These are the people who actually fought the Nazis; not people who only know who that time from old newsreels and ridiculous Hollywood movies. They'd rather have learned goosestepping in German than live in modern Britain. Their complaints mostly boiled down to immigration (Germans apparently make better neighbors than the invaders they got), immorality and crime.The civilization they suffered so much to defend against the Nazis is now dead and gone, never to return, and replaced with something ultimately even more abominable.

 

I don't know; maybe it was selectively edited. Maybe the type of people who respond to such request are alienated grouches, though not all of them were: one or two liked modern Britain. Their wartime stories had the detailed ring of authenticity, and were told in the voices of ordinary people, rather than some propagandist trying to make a point. I believe the author was simply trying to give these people a voice before they all died out, as he said. The war stories themselves are fascinating, but their opinions on modern life are a real punch to the throat.

 

A VERY BITTER SENIOR GENERATION 9 Nov 2012

5/5

By Michael J. Oldfield  (Vancouver, Canada)

 

For those who've never though about it,"The Unknown Warriors" tells us exactly what the generation who fought World War Two feels about Britain today and the results are shocking. Almost every single veteran from all three forces plus women's auxiliaries say that they are totally disgusted with what has become of their country. The complaints follow a similar pattern: Too many Third World immigrants, no discipline in the schools, the widespread use of drugs, foul-mouthed and violent youths, lack of police protection and a feeling that their country no longer belongs to them. Some even state that they wish the Germans had won the war because Hitler would have been a better leader for Britain than the present crop of politicians! I could not put this book down. The sacrifices these people made and the toll that the war took upon them will cause the reader great sadness but their anger towards their country today will stun you.

 

NOT SURPRISING - BUT SHOULD BE ENFORCED READING FOR POLITICIANS! 13 Jun 2013

5/5

By CRHI  TOP 500 REVIEWER

 

This is a tell-it-like-it-is book about the war experiences of the WWII soldiers and their views on life today in Britain since the War.

 

The best thing about it is that the author has allowed these people - to whom we owe so much - to express themselves openly and honestly. The result is a book that should be enforced reading for every politician.

 

However - and this is NOT said in the book - these views are NOT just the views of that generation but also many many other people in Britain.

 

It is disgraceful that these old soldiers are left feeling that they might just as well not have fought in the War and that many wish they had emigrated themselves, rather than face the Britain of today.

 

Well done for giving them a voice Mr Pringle!

 

INTERESTING READ, 29 Aug 2013

5/5

Robin Woodward

 

This was a really interesting book to read. It was quite straight talking and told it how it was and did not fluff it up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amazon Reviews